top of page

MCS Digital Leaders: Favorite Digital Tool based on Bloom's Digital Taxonomy

The first time I saw the phrase Bloom's Digital Taxonomy I thought, "What in the world is that?!" So after doing some reading about it, I know the 6 categories for Bloom's Digital Taxonomy are:

1. Creating 2. Evaluating 3. Analyzing 4. Applying 5. Understanding & 6. Remembering

Many digital tools fall under each category. My favorite category, though, is creating. Who doesn't like creating things, right? Creating is where you express yourself (in this case using a digital tool of course) and you make something original that nobody else has ever thought about. The best part is messing around with things until you've come up with something you like. Which is exactly what I do on iMovie. I've recorded and edited a video with some of the other kids in my Digital Leadership class as the actors. The video has actually been published on My Big Campus. Maybe someday, someone will find it and watch it. *Hint* it involves a Susie and a Billy.

I love making videos. A few years ago I dreamed of having a YouTube channel. Those dreams have not exactly taken off yet. Most people dream of becoming YouTube famous though, right? Or is that just me? Although I love creating, I don't exactly know what to do for YouTube. Maybe after we start vlogging for Digital Leadership I will be ready for a Youtube channel. Only time will tell.

Now let's apply creating to real life. Do you think it would be possible to create any movie, TV show, or those amazing Super Bowl commercials without amazing digital creating tools? Well, most likely no. Also when you think about it, many famous people, like Justin Bieber, would not be famous if it weren't for Youtube. Without video creation and sharing those videos onto Youtube (or other such sites), I feel that there would be about half as many famous people in the world. Ultimately, creating with digital tools, such as YouTube and iMovie, are a way to exploit your talents.

So I leave you with this: What is your favorite category of Bloom's Digital Taxonomyand what's your favorite digital tool?

Posted by Emma Staicer, Freshman, Madison Consolidated High School

Emma Staicer (Blog Post 2014).jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page